HomeCricketMohammed Shami Replaces Jasprit Bumrah in India’s T20 World Cup 2022 Squad

Mohammed Shami Replaces Jasprit Bumrah in India’s T20 World Cup 2022 Squad

Mohammed Shami will join the Indian men’s cricket team in Brisbane as the 15th member replacing injured Jasprit Bumrah in the 2022 ICC T20 World Cup.

Mohammed Shami

Mohammed Shami has been named as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement in India’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup squad. Jay Shah, BCCI’s general secretary, said on Friday that Shami has arrived in Australia and will join the squad in Brisbane ahead of the warm-up matches.

Moreover, pacer Mohammed Siraj and allrounder Shardul Thakur are named as backups and will travel to Australia shortly.

Bumrah’s back injury ruled him out of the showpiece event, a big blow for the former champions. Two out of three T20I matches that he played against Australia marked his return to competitive cricket.

As a result, the 28-year-old was ruled out of the three-match T20I series he was supposed to play at home against South Africa, and the BCCI confirmed his cancellation from the world cup as well.

However, the Indian team did not name a replacement for Bumrah before departing for Australia. A number of names were mentioned in media reports as possible candidates, including Siraj and Thakur.

As a prime candidate, Shami was expected to demonstrate match fitness and form during the white-ball matches at home before the world cup. As a result, he was unable to participate in any of the Australia T20Is after contracting covid days before.

Since India exited the group stage of the world cup last year in UAE, Shami has not played a T20I.

On October 23, India will face Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in the opening match of the world cup. They will be joined by two qualifiers in Super 12 Group 2 alongside Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami.

Nikhil Pratap
Nikhil Prataphttps://bestresearch.in/
Nikhil Pratap is Editor Head of Best Research. He is Administrative Director who leads the Technology team at bestresearch.in. He is also media advisor at bestresearch.in. Contact: nikhil@bestresearch.in


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments